Cricket World Cup 2007 Cricket Rules The Ways of Getting Out

Search


f

 

Cricket Rules - The Ways of Getting Out

There are 10 ways of Getting Out 

 

Caught

This is the most common way of getting out. A batter is out caught when a fielder catches the ball directly off the bat, before it has hit the ground. The ball doesn't have to come directly off the bat though. It can deflect from the pad on to the bat or from the bat on to the pad and still be caught, so long as the fielder takes the ball on the full. Also if the ball hits the batter on the hand, below the wrist, then you can still be out caught. But you can't be given out caught off a no-ball. When a bowler takes a catch off their own bowling, the batsman is out caught and bowled. And when a wicketkeeper takes the catch the batter is out caught behind. If the ball gets caught in a batter's pads and a fielder removes it and attempts to claim a catch, the umpire should give the batsman "not out" as the ball is a "dead ball".

Bowled

As a batsman, it's your duty to protect these three bits of wood stuck in the pitch. But if a bowler manages to get a ball through and knock off the bails, the two bits of wood resting at the top of the stumps, then the batsman is out "bowled". A batsman is still out if they've accidentally deflected the ball onto the stumps off their bat or pad. But you can't be bowled off a no-ball.

Unravelling cricket's lbw law

The leg before wicket (lbw) law is to cricket what the offside rule is to football - confusing to plenty! However, you don't need a PHD from Oxford University to work it out. Here's the Academy's guide to make things a little simpler.
The umpire will consider an lbw decision if:
He believes the ball would have hit the stumps if it had not been obstructed by the batsman's pads. But the umpire also has to take other factors into consideration.
The batsman cannot be given out if:

The ball must hit the batsmen in line with the stumps

The ball pitches outside the line of leg stump, regardless of whether or not the ball would have gone on to hit the stumps

The ball hits the bat before striking the pad

The batsman is struck on the pad outside the line of off stump having made a genuine attempt to hit the ball

The bowler bowls a no ball

One of the most important rules when making an lbw decision is a batsman CANNOT be given out if the ball pitches outside leg stump. How does Hawk-eye work?
It doesn't matter if the ball would have gone on to hit the stumps, it can't be given out. Often an lbw decision looks out at first glance, but TV replays showed the ball pitched outside leg stump, even though it would've struck middle.
But the batsman can be given out if:

The batsman is struck on the pad in front of the stumps and the ball pitched in line with the stumps

Playing no shot can be dangerous

The batsman is struck on the pad outside the line of off stump having not made an attempt to hit the ball

This is an important part of the lbw law to remember as a batsman CAN be given out playing no stroke - even if they're struck outside the line of the off stump - as long as the ball is going on to hit the stumps. A batsman can still be given out lbw even if the ball hasn't hit their pads. For example, a batsman can be given out lbw if they've been hit on the helmet. But the ball MUST have pitched in line with the stumps and then go on to hit them. Hope this clears a few things up! Sign up for our newsletter.

Run Out

You'll often see run-outs in one-day games - they can happen at either end of the wicket. A run-out is when the batters are going for a run or runs and but fall short of the batting crease when the stumps are broken by the fielding team. Run-outs are always difficult decisions for umpires to make because it all happens so fast. That's why at the highest level the third umpire, who can watch video replays, is often called on to make those tight decisions.

Stumped

If a batter comes down the wicket to smash the ball, there's a chance they'll be stumped by the wicketkeeper. A stumping happens when the keeper collects the ball and knocks off the bails before the batter gets their bat or any part of their body grounded behind the batting crease. Touching the batting crease with the bat or heel of the foot isn't good enough to save the batter. They must have something in contact with the ground behind the crease. You can't be stumped off a no-ball, but you can be stumped if the ball is called wide.

Handled the ball

If a batter is worried the ball will roll back on to the stumps after playing a shot, they can knock the ball away with the bat, feet or pads. But if they use their hands they can be given out handled the ball. Again this is another type of dismissal you see rarely - but it does happen. England captain Michael Vaughan has been dismissed this way. And former England captain Graham Gooch is another who has been given his marching orders for handling the ball. When a batter picks the ball up off the pitch to pass the ball back to the fielding side though, this is fine.

Timed out

This is something you rarely see in any sort of cricket match. Because it's a not a good sporting gesture, it's very rare that batters are ever timed out. But you need to know about the law that says when a wicket falls, the next batter must be at the crease to face the next ball within three minutes of the wicket falling. Should this ever happen, no player on the fielding side is given the credit for the dismissal.

Double hit

This is another dismissal you rarely see in cricket. But a batter can be given out hitting the ball twice if the second strike is deliberate. The only exception that allows a batsman to hit the ball on a second occasion is if they are protecting their wicket (ie: stopping the ball from rolling back on to the stumps).

Hit wicket

This dismissal happens when the batter knocks their stumps while playing a shot or avoiding a delivery. This can be with the bat or with the body, but the bowler gets the credit for the wicket.

Obstructing the field

The umpire can give a batsman out if he feels the batter has got in the way of a fielder who is about to take a catch or attempt a run-out on purpose. Again, this is a very uncommon type of dismissal in cricket and you hardly ever see it given.


Disclaimer is to inform all internet user of this website that this is not official website for Cricket World Cup 2007 but an unofficial website meant to promote the Cricket World Cup 2007 and its attractions online.

We tried to make all information accurate but this website or its affiliates will not be responsible for any damage or problem comes due to the information available on this website. If you want to visit official website for Cricket World Cup 2007 click here.